Review: Say Yes Summer (Lindsey Roth Culli)

Say Yes Summer
Author: Lindsey Roth Culli
Publication Date: May 12, 2020
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary Romance
Note: This review is for an ARC and is my unbiased opinion.

Rating: ★ ★ ½

Synopsis:

Perfect for fans of Morgan Matson and Netflix/Hallmark Channel rom-coms, this is the story of a girl who decides to give in to the universe and just say yes to everything, bringing her friendship, new experiences, and, if she lets her guard down, true love.

The perfect book to kick off summer! For as long as Rachel Brooks can remember, she’s had capital-G Goals: straight As, academic scholarship, college of her dreams. And it’s all paid off–after years of following the rules and acing every exam, Rachel is graduating at the top of her class and ready to celebrate by . . . doing absolutely nothing. Because Rachel Brooks has spent most of high school saying no. No to dances, no to parties, and most especially, no to boys.

Now, for the first time in her life, there’s nothing stopping Rachel from having a little fun–nothing, that is, except herself. So when she stumbles on a beat up old self-help book–A SEASON OF YES!–a crazy idea pops into her head: What if she just said yes to . . . everything?

And so begins a summer of yes. Yes to new experiences and big mistakes, yes to rekindled friendships and unexpected romances, yes to seeing the world in a whole new way. This book is a fresh and fun take on the coming-of-age novel that explores the quintessential themes of growing up: taking risks, making mistakes, and, of course, love. And who knows? Lindsey Roth Culli’s hilarious and heartwarming debut may just inspire your own SAY YES SUMMER.


Not going to lie. It was the “Perfect for fans of Morgan Matson and Netflix/Hallmark Channel rom-coms…” that got me wanting to read Say Yes Summer. I was excited to for a great YA summer read. I probably should have read the reviews first. If I had, I would have known this book wasn’t for me.

Say Yes Summer has something I hate in romances: the dreaded love triangle. Love triangles frustrate me. I don’t like people in real life dating two people at once, so I am not a fan of it in books either. It makes a book an uncomfortable read for me. So, even while I was enjoying other parts of this story, I couldn’t completely let go and enjoy the majority of it.

I also had a problem with the way Rachel’s family responded to her making small changes. They were really judgemental. I didn’t see what the big deal was. They acted like she completely changed when she hadn’t.

What did I like about this book? Well, I liked that Rachel was at a crossroads in life and was using it to try new things. I loved that she was reconnecting with a friend who had disappeared from her life earlier. I liked Rachel in general. That was pretty much it.

So, yeah. I think this was more of this book not being for me and not a reflection of how well it was written or anything. The author did a nice job with the writing.

14 thoughts on “Review: Say Yes Summer (Lindsey Roth Culli)”

  1. I am so sad this didn’t work for you. It delighted me to no end. I know a lot of people are not fans of love triangle. I really only abhor them, when they involve family members (think The Summer I Turned Pretty)

  2. I’ve read a couple of really positive reviews for this one so I think it’s like you said – it’s not a matter of the writing, just a reaction to the content. Love triangles aren’t a total deal breaker for me, but it’s not my favorite trope, either.

  3. Triangles certainly aren’t for everyone. It often depends on the circumstances surrounding things for me, but this seems like a situation I wouldn’t enjoy either.

  4. Super cute cover!! So sorry you didn’t enjoy this one. I’m strange in that I like love triangles. I love the constant pull to two different people and trying to decide which is the best fit for you. Do I agree with this in real life? no but in stories it’s fun!

Leave a Reply