Review: How Lulu Lost Her Mind (Rachel Gibson)

How Lulu Lost Her Mind
Author: Rachel Gibson
Publication Date: May 19, 2020
Publisher: Gallery Books
Genre: Women’s Fiction
Note: This review is for an ARC and is my unbiased opinion.

Rating: ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Synopsis:

From New York Times bestselling author Rachel Gibson comes the story of a mother-daughter journey to rediscover the past before it disappears forever.

Lou Ann Hunter’s mother, Patricia, has always had a passionate nature, which explains why she’s been married and divorced five times and spooned enough male patients to be ousted from three elderly care facilities. She also has Alzheimer’s, which is why she wants to spend her remaining months or years surrounded by memories at her family’s decrepit old plantation in Louisiana with her only daughter.

Lou Ann, a.k.a. Lulu the Love Guru, has built an empire preaching sex, love, and relationship advice to the women of America—mostly by defying the example her mother has set for her. But with her mother suddenly in need of a fulltime caretaker, Lou Ann reluctantly agrees to step out of the spotlight and indulge her mother’s wishes, even if it means trading in her Louboutins and Chanel No. 5 for boots and mosquito repellant.

Upon arrival at Sutton Hall, Lou Ann discovers that very little functions at it should, least of all her mother’s mind. She is haunted not only by creaky floorboards and things that go bump in the night, but also by the living ghost sleeping downstairs. Every good day Patricia and Lou Ann have treasure hunting in the attic seems to be followed by two days of meltdowns and cold shoulders. And as Lou Ann adjusts to this new and inevitably temporary dynamic, she is forced to confront the fact that her mother’s fate is completely out of her hands—and the end may be coming quicker than she even thought possible.

Heartrending at times and laugh-out-loud funny at others, How Lulu Lost Her Mind is the book for anyone whose mom has ever made them cry—whether tears of joy, regret, frustration, love, or all of the above. Fans of Emily Giffin, Kristan Higgins, and Jill Shalvis won’t be able to forget it.


I have been a fan of Rachel Gibson’s contemporary romance novels for a long time. She’s one of the first authors I really got into and binged on back in the day. When I saw she was releasing a book in the women’s fiction category, I was both intrigued and slight disappointed. So many of my longtime favorite romance authors have been moving over to this genre. It makes me a little sad. That being said, once I got started on How Lulu Lost Her Mind, I knew I was in for something special.

How Lulu Lost Her Mind was a gem. It was all about character growth for Lulu. She got to reexamine her relationship with her mother, her job, and her feelings. All of that was done in a beautifully described setting. I have to admit that I didn’t love Lulu at first due to her nature, but she quickly grew on me.

The rest of the characters were just as fabulous. I loved Patricia, Lindsey, Simon, and Raphael. Patricia added both funny and heartbreaking parts. Lindsey added a special friendship aspect. Simon added just the right tough of romance to the story. And Raphael… Well, that parrot was something else.

How Lulu Lost Her Mind was a heartwarming tale that I won’t be forgetting anytime soon. Rachel Gibson’s foray into women’s fiction was a smashing success!

9 thoughts on “Review: How Lulu Lost Her Mind (Rachel Gibson)”

  1. I agree that I don’t like it when my favorite Romance authors shift over to Women’s Fiction. I’m glad this one worked out for you, though. The title of this one really intrigued me. I think I’m going to add this to my TBR. Great review!

    1. I don’t know. Many of them have been around a long time and are “older”. I’m wondering if this a more natural progression for them?

  2. I do hate it when an author I love in a specific genre moves to another genre, but I agree that sometimes it really works out well. Glad this one did! Added it to my TBR!

Leave a Reply