Review: How to Walk Away by Katherine Center

How to Walk Away
Author: Katherine Center
Narrator: Thérèse Plummer
Publication Date: May 15, 2018
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Genre: Fiction, Contemporary, Women’s Fiction, Romance

Rating: ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Synopsis:

From the author of Happiness for Beginners comes an unforgettable love story about finding joy even in the darkest of circumstances.

Margaret Jacobsen has a bright future ahead of her: a fiancé she adores, her dream job, and the promise of a picture-perfect life just around the corner. Then, suddenly, on what should have been one of the happiest days of her life, everything she worked for is taken away in one tumultuous moment .

In the hospital and forced to face the possibility that nothing will ever be the same again, Margaret must figure out how to move forward on her own terms while facing long-held family secrets, devastating heartbreak, and the idea that love might find her in the last place she would ever expect.

How to Walk Away is Katherine Center at her very best: an utterly charming, hopeful, and romantic novel that will capture reader’s hearts with every page.


How to Walk Away has been on my radar since it was released earlier this year. Pretty much everyone has been raving about it. I was slightly hesitant to read it because I thought it might make me very sad, and I wasn’t in the mood to feel that way. Despite my reservations, I went ahead and requested the audiobook from my library. I am so happy I did! I don’t think I’ve ever had 10+ hours of audio feel like it went so fast before. Between the writing and the narrator, this book was pure magic.

How to Walk Away is my new favorite book of 2018. It deserves all the awards it could possibly get. That’s high praise with all the amazing book releases this year. I was so impressed with Katherine Center’s writing. Her words made me feel. I was sad, happy, depressed, excited… She took me on a journey with Margaret that was emotional and special. I was surprised by how I felt inspired and happy even when I was sad and slightly depressed by what was going on in the story. There were moments that brought me to tears, but more often I was smiling. Margaret’s story wasn’t as good as the hype surrounding it. IT WAS BETTER.

With only one book read by Katherine Center, she has already become one of my new favorite authors. I will for sure be going back to read her earlier books. I highly recommend How to Walk Away. It’s perfect for readers who enjoy books like Me Before You, Bright Side, and really anyone who just loves beautifully written novels.

12 thoughts on “Review: How to Walk Away by Katherine Center

  1. I’m so glad you loved this book!! I’m definitely a new fan of this author. Did you see she has a new release coming out? I just saw someone post about it yesterday. I can’t wait!

  2. Wow!! That is high praise indeed! And I’ve never heard of this book. I think I need to see how I feel about Bright Side first…I’m scurr of these heartwrenching stories.

    • This one is very different than Bright Side. Bright Side was more emotional for me than this one. This was more like women’s fiction. It was very well written. I can’t wait to hear what you think of them both!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.