Release Day Review: Lost and Found Sisters by Jill Shalvis

Lost and Found Sisters
Series: Wildstone, #1
Author: Jill Shalvis
Publication Date: June 20, 2017
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Note: I received an ARC from the author in exchange for an unbiased review.

Rating: ★ ★ ★ ★ ½

Synopsis:

From New York Times bestselling author Jill Shalvis comes her first women’s fiction novel—an unforgettable story of friendship, love, family, and sisterhood—perfect for fans of Colleen Hoover, Susan Mallery, and Kristan Higgins.

They say life can change in an instant…

After losing her sister in a devastating car accident, chef Quinn Weller is finally getting her life back on track. She appears to have it all: a loving family, a dream job in one of L.A.’s hottest eateries, and a gorgeous boyfriend dying to slip an engagement ring on her finger. So why does she feel so empty, like she’s looking for a missing piece she can’t find?

The answer comes when a lawyer tracks down Quinn and reveals a bombshell secret and a mysterious inheritance that only she can claim. This shocking revelation washes over Quinn like a tidal wave. Her whole life has been a lie.

On impulse, Quinn gives up her job, home, and boyfriend. She heads up the coast to the small hometown of Wildstone, California, which is just a few hours north, but feels worlds apart from Los Angeles. Though she doesn’t quite fit in right away, she can’t help but be drawn to the town’s simple pleasures…and the handsome, dark-haired stranger who offers friendship with no questions asked.

As Quinn settles into Wildstone, she discovers there’s another surprise in store for her. The inheritance isn’t a house or money, but rather something earthshattering, something that will make her question everything she thought she knew about herself, about her family. Now with a world of possibilities opening up to Quinn, she must decide if this new life is the one she was always meant to have—and the one that could finally give her the fulfillment she’s searched so long for.


I’m a big Jill Shalvis fan. She’s the first contemporary romance author I read who incorporated humor into her novels. I love how she’s always able to mix witty banter with intense sexual chemistry. It’s always exciting to read each new release of hers. I was especially excited to find out she was beginning a new series with Lost and Found Sisters.

Lost and Found Sisters was a little different from other novels I’ve read by Jill Shalvis. It almost had more of a women’s fiction feel to it than a contemporary romance. There were so many different levels to the story. First, there was Quinn coming to terms with the loss of her sister and where she was in life at age thirty. Second, there was Quinn’s discovery of a past she had no idea existed. Third, there was a possible romance between Quinn and the handsome stranger Mick. The majority of the story was focused on what Quinn wanted out of life and how she came to her decision. The romance was secondary to that.

Quinn was an easy character for me to identify with. I can’t go into why too much because I don’t want to give away any surprises, but she and I had something in common. Her surprise wasn’t something I’ve had to go through, but I was able to empathize with her because I could imagine going through the same thing. I’m just happy she had the adorably sexy Mick to help her through it all.

Mick was one of the good guys. His maturity was sexy. He knew what he wanted out of life, but wasn’t scared to make a change when an unexpected opportunity came his way. His relationship with Quinn may have had its ups and down, but his unwavering support of Quinn was sweet.

I loved all of the secondary characters in this book. Each was special to the story and Quinn in some way. Surprisingly, Lena was my favorite. She might have been Quinn’s nemesis at first, but she had so much personality! I am hoping Lena gets her own book. I would love to see how things work out for her and Boomer.

The only thing I missed in Lost and Found Sisters was Shalvis’ trademark humor. There were moments of it, but they weren’t as continuous as in some of her other novels. I also missed the romance being front and center in the story. I wanted a little bit more sexiness in the story. I’m hoping as the series goes on, those things get worked more into the next books.

Overall, Lost and Found Sisters was a very enjoyable read. It was filled with an amazing setting, lovable characters and a whole lot of heart. Lost and Found Sisters would be the perfect book to take to the beach or on any other of your summertime adventures.

3 thoughts on “Release Day Review: Lost and Found Sisters by Jill Shalvis

  1. I love books that have humour in them! It is so refreshing in a contemporary and just makes it so much more enjoyable. Especially when there are tough topics in them as well. I will have to check this one out! 🙂

  2. This sounds similar to the recent Kristen Higgins books I’ve read and loved. Definitely sounds like a book I’ll enjoy – so, I picked up a copy at Target today! Great review – I’m glad to see you enjoyed it!

Leave a Reply