Review: Friday Night Players by Michelle DiCeglio

29846905Friday Night Players

Author: Michelle DiCeglio

Publication Date: April 4, 2016

Genre: New Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Fiction

Note: I received an electronic copy from the author in exchange for an honest review.

Goodreads Synopsis:

Fans of Glee, Pitch Perfect, and So You Think You Can Dance will fall in love with this in depth look at what it’s like to find yourself while pretending to be someone else.

“My heart began to race. Was all this applause really for me? I felt a nudge from behind me and stepped forward. The audience began banging on their tables, and I heard a few cat calls from the side of the stage. The more I let the performance rush linger, the more I realized I wanted to do this as often as I could.”

It’s a typical Friday night for “River Dancer,” who initially joined dance troupe Friday Night Players to get closer to “Siren,” the troupe’s leading female performer. When River learns that Siren is dating another member of FNP, however, he must decide where his loyalties lie: with the troupe or with his heart.


  ★ ★ ★ ☆ ☆


I’ll be the first to admit I’m a huge fan of both Glee, the Pitch Perfect franchise and So You Think You Can Dance. So when I saw the blurb began with a nod to those masterpieces, I was curious. Would I love Friday Night Players as much as I loved those fan favorites?

Friday Night Players started out with a very strong and mysterious first chapter. I was just as intrigued as River was with beautiful Siren. After that chapter, the story lost my interest until about 1/3 of the way in. I just didn’t connect with the characters as much as I wanted to.

River, as a main character, was kind of a mystery throughout the book. I never really felt like I got to know him. I knew all about his attraction for Siren and what he thought about the Friday Night Players (FNP), but I didn’t really get to know him and what made him tick.

Sultry Siren was a horrible person. I couldn’t stand the love triangle she created between herself, River and Spence. River worshipped her, but she used him. He just chose not to see it because he was so infatuated by her.

The rest of the supporting characters were an interesting bunch. They were a cool and unique family. My favorite was Ginny. She may have been disgruntled, but she stirred things up and brought so much to the story.

Friday Night Players had a really cool performance element to it. The characters’ confidence and abilities shown through in these scenes. I’m just not quite sure I would have compared it to Glee or the Pitch Perfect franchise, though. That made me compare it to those shows and expect an upbeat, funny comedy. Friday Night Players was all about the drama.

Friday Night Players was an interesting, dramatic story. There were parts of it I really enjoyed and other parts (love triangle) that I didn’t. Overall, it’s a fun read for readers who love the performance arts.

 

 

Leave a Reply